Located at 611, Liyang Rd, Hongkou District in Shanghai, the Old Millfun 1933, served as the former slaughterhouse of Shanghai Municipal Council, is a newly developed attraction for visitors.
The 5-storey building covers a total area of 31,700 sq.m. It was designed by the famous architect, Mr. Balfours. The construction project was completed by the Builder of Family Yu which was a famous family-ran firm in Shanghai at that time. The whole project costs over 3 million silver dollars. All the concrete construction was imported by UK. With the 50 cm deep and a hollow wall, it effectively separates the high temperature even in the hot summer. The whole building perfectly combines the oriental and European style. Basilica style is the main feature of the building. Meanwhile, the round shape and square interior matches the traditional theory of Fengshui. No-beam structure, umbrella-shape pillar, corridor and winding stair are perfected combined with each other which make the building unique. The following World War II and civil war gravely destroyed the economy. The building was shut down finally.
Though many wars happened, the building was under good protection. In 2006, Shanghai Automotive Group, Shanghai Innovation Industry center and Britain Howkins Organization established a joint venture firm and signed the tenancy agreement with the owner, Shanghai JinJiang International Holdings Co., Ltd. Then the project of Innovation zone was officially started. For the time being, the building houses the international gourmet, opera and musical performance, theme party which has been listed as the new landmark of Shanghai. When travelling in the Shanghai, it is worthwhile to take a couple hours and stroll around.